Toyota Vios
 (4/5)
expert rating
 (3.4/5)
owner rating
No Longer On Sale
from RM 995.42 /month
from RM 74,623.00 to RM 95,284.00
Find Toyota Vios Dealers

Owner Review

Share your experiences with the Toyota Vios - Write an owner review

Do you own the Toyota Vios? As the owner, you have literally sat in the driver's seat and discovered the ups and downs as you go about your everyday life.

Share your experiences with the Toyota Vios and help others in the market for a car like this.

* limited to Malaysian citizens and verified owners of the reviewed car.
CarBase.my works with ISM Insurance Services to verify car ownership in order to ensure quality reviews.

32 Owner Reviews
Date Reviewed
18 December 2020
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Pute Pute
1.5G (2004)
Bought new, Owned for 10 Years
RON95, Mileage: 1,000 km/month
    - Its super reliable, it never broke down before once even despite my father's 'Bad' behavior of driving it.. [He always go full throttle and stomp on the brake, always late to service the engine and gearbox, never refill the water reservoir with proper coolant & etc]

    - Fuel efficient considering its a 16 years old car

    - Above average engine performance.. its more than enough actually

    - Safety equipment is quite good as well.. 2 airbags & ABS for a 2004 car

    - Parts are cheaper compared to the other main rivals

    - NVH is superb for its segment.. its even quieter than my cousin's 2008 Honda Civic FD

    - Best resale value in its segment
    - Small interior space & legroom [Even 1st gen myvi have larger interior space & legroom]

    - Practicality is not good.. not enough of cubby spaces to place your item.. even the passenger compartment is relatively small

    - Handling is poor, too many body roll especially on highway
To Improve
Well, its a 16 years old car after all.. nothing much can be improved, except for the cubby spaces.. Toyota should have done a better job..
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
11 January 2017
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Cakap
1.5J (A) (2008)
Bought new, Owned for 6 Years
RON95
    The fabric seat are comfortable
    The horsepower close to Proton Gen 2
    The legroom
    Hard plastic
    wind and trye noise up to 100 Km/h
    *ESC or VSC
To Improve
Improve tyre noise and wind noise
*Was available in Facelift model [3 th gen]
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
7 May 2016
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Seng Ann
1.5 TRD Sportivo (2015)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 15.5 km/litre (6.5 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,800 km/month
    - Exterior looks! sporty and cool!
    - Smooth and responsive auto gearbox
    - Supple ride and handling is OK
    - Fuel economy
    - Spacious boot and rear legroom
    - Vast service outlet around Malaysia
    - Very friendly, attentive service advisors
    - Very good ownership experience
    - Proven mechanical reliability, worry free
    - Thin panel for roof pillar. Got dented where I smack a big red ant with my bare hand =(
    - Poor grip from Conti CC5 tyres supplied with new Vios. The tyres lose grip easily during hard braking and maneuvering. Have a better grip tyres will improve its handling.
    - The Toyota Security Tint is somewhat still too hot and bright to drive under scorching afternoon sun
    - Headlight brightness is somewhat less ideal compare with my previous ride (Saga FLX)
    - Safety features.. for price you paid, it's too spartan!
To Improve
- Roof Insulation, somewhat a little more noisy than my previous cheaper ride
- A more modern, better engine & gearbox combo
- Grippier OEM tyres
- Driver foot rest!
- Electronic stability control and more airbags please. Your customer life is also very important, k? =)
- Automatic climate control
- Lumbar support for driver seat
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
8 December 2016
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Ali Saifuddin
1.5E (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
RON95, Mileage: 100 km/month
    It spacious.
    ENGINE START UP
    Very LOUD and NOISY engine start up early in the morning. The irritating engine start up sound very much like an OLD 10 year plus car. Complained and sent the car to Toyota and they CLAIMED that the loud noise is NORMAL and STANDARD to all of the Vioses out there.

    AIR COND COMPRESSOR
    Noisy aircond like you are driving a VIVA.
To Improve
Engine Start Up Noise to design quiet as most Korean Cars.
No, I would not recommend this car
Date Reviewed
12 January 2016
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Sadiq
1.5 TRD Sportivo (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 2 Years
Fuel Economy: 10.7 km/litre (9.3 L/100 km), RON97, Mileage: 2,000 km/month
    i love exterior design of the car.
    good responsive when accelerating
    good cornering capabilities
    good braking response
    stable at high speed at 170 km/h
    comfortable seat
    good audio system
    adjustable headlamps
    good suspensions when no passengers
    loud suspension noise from the front of the car when driving on uneven road
    loud grinding noise from front disk brake when brake from 150 km/h although just changed the brake pad
    loud roof noise when heavy rain. SOLVED by toyota when complaint is launched
    rear fog light not working after 5 months i bought the car
    only 2 airbags
    poor fuel efficiency
    only 4 gear transmission. like seriously???
    lack of stability control
To Improve
if the problems are solved by toyota this is one of the best car to buy and drive around.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
15 December 2015
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Gabriel
1.5 TRD Sportivo (2014)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 12.0 km/litre (8.3 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,800 km/month
    -Fuel efficiency Are consider Good. It will be more Fuel efficiency when you have a Long journey.
    -Seat Comfortable, Large, spacious for Front & rear Seat! I can feel My leg are Free to move!
    -Engine is very responsive! You get immediate power when you hit the pedal slightly deeper. (Acceleration)
    I don't even feel it changing gear in automatic.
    -The brake are very responsive too!
    -The handling is quite smooth & Better compared to Myvi & Proton
    -The car looks sporty and Cool in first sight!
    -Plenty of service centres and the staff are friendly. Free wifi, car wash, air-con, coffee & Magazine in every time servicing! And you can even watching the process of servicing in a glass room!
    -Reliable!
    -Audio system is cool! I enjoy when i Play Heavy Bass music / Relaxing Music!
    -Cup holder space are Delight!
    -Like the air con. cool the cabin faster. I don't even have to Cover my sun shade.
    -Soundproof are acceptable. I quite enjoy the raining drop sound.
    -Design are quite timeless.
    -LED daylight are cool!
    -Interior design are very classy cool with its Leather textured stitching design.
    -Between 80-120 KM/H are ideal speed for Quiet driving.
    -Spare part will definitely expensive compare Perodua & Proton. (But still affordable)
    -4 Gear AT speed are very old (But think about it, repair cost will reduce)
    -Fog lamp are function for Visibility under rain, Not for Brighter the road.
    -Boring Technology. (But think about it, It better than Perodua & Proton. So is ok)
    -Plastic material
    -A lot of body roll...
    -Less safety Equipment such as 2 airbag only.
    -Visible are bad when you reverse your car without Reverse Camera. (Big fat Bonnet)
    -Aircon tooo Colddddddd in all condition.
    -When i carry 5 person, suspension are bad during Bump Crossing.
    -There is no foot light at the back seat. I have to use my phone's flashlight every time I try to look for something.
    -Very basic car.
    -Speedometer doesn't have light unless headlights are turned on.
    -No alarm sound when Lock & unlock the door
    - Leather smell are bad for first month!
To Improve
-Engine / Gear box should learn from Mazda & Honda! 6 gear / Semi Auto.
-Suspension to be improve (When i carry 5 person it's Bad)
-Improving the overall quality such as Real leather upholster of the car and DUN CUT COST!
-No skylight for roof top!
-Improve safety feature!
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
22 December 2015
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Ed
1.5J (A) (2012)
Bought new, Owned for 2 Years
Fuel Economy: 11.5 km/litre (8.7 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 800 km/month
    - both exterior and interior are very nice, impressive!
    Very bad quality!!

    When I got the car within a month i have the engine mounting replaced and the replacement wasn't done immediately. I have send my car to the service center for 3rd times, then only got the problem fixed!

    A year later, I've discovered another issue especially in a heavy rain. When I pass through a road hump, i heard clunks from the car suspension. I'm disappointed with the big name of Toyota, by delivering such a poor quality of work!
To Improve
- People used to buy Toyota because of Quality, but I do not see this at all nowadays.
No, I would not recommend this car
Date Reviewed
1 October 2015
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Brenda
1.5E (2011)
Bought new, Owned for 3 Years
Fuel Economy: 68900.0 km/litre (0.0 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 2,000 km/month
    *Fuel efficiency
    *Passenger seats at the back & booth are spacious enough
    *Air-cond is cooling (I dont all the Vios get the same cooling air-cond ^^ but mind is very cooling)
    *All the seats are not comfy
    *Steering is to far to reach & pedals are too near to step. (causing long term backaches & right ankle pain to drivers who are taller than165cm)
    *When taking corners and going over bumps, feeling like riding a boat in rough sea. (Passengers felt nausea -_-)
    *Jerky too

    i apologize for the above weird explanations.
To Improve
*Improve the stability
*Get rid of the jerkiness
*Extend the length between driver's seat & pedals (if the length is extended then drivers do not need to bend their right leg too high & raise their foot that high to switch pedals)
No, I would not recommend this car
Date Reviewed
16 July 2015
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Aaron
1.5J (M) (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 14.5 km/litre (6.9 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 2,500 km/month
    -Good fuel consumption despite jam in KL
    -Great equipment for J spec M
    -Value for money
    -Suspension soft and comfortable
    -NVH very bad. especially the roof. the sound like milo tin being hit by a stick when raining.
    -Still using ancient engine
    -Cheap plastics everywhere especially the manual gear knob glove. Even proton saga gave leather material.
    -A lot of body roll. I wont feel safe if im driving a auto transmission.
To Improve
Front suspension got noise, Engine mounting got noise and Front Disk breaks rusty when i first got the car. Havent been resolved till now. Improve your customer service in Subang Jaya.
Newer engine please.
Better quality interior and body please.
No, I would not recommend this car
Date Reviewed
9 March 2015
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Ahmadawally
1.5J (A) (2012)
Bought new, Owned for 2 Years
Fuel Economy: 10.0 km/litre (10.0 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,000 km/month
    1) Love the front look as it on par with C-segment cars while the rear look like previous Camry.
    2) The instrument panel design also look good with stitching design.
    3) Very comfortable seat and spacious leg room
    1) Regret on suspension system quality. This car can not bring full load (5 people) at one time and it will sagged at normal road bump! Already talk to SC but they claim it was standard design and Toyota will entertain any request on new suspension.
    2) The aircond was terrible during afternoon, the cfm airflow was uneven between middle and side aircond outlet vent. The side was terribly slow and require higher setting. Initially I suspected blockage in the side ducting but SC said no problem.
    3) Reverse sensor sound was too slow during reversing the vehicle. Toyota suppose to make auto-off the entertainment system during vehicle reversing like other automakers. Some of driver not noticing the already hitting object during reversing. I had thrice accident during reversing this Vios!!
    4) Noisy roof top sound when driving in slight raining, the noise still worse after installing additional insulator. I can't believe paying RM 80k for driving a Milo tin!
    5) The fuel consumption is not good as claim during promotion especially during town driving.
    6) Japs car still producing less safety vehicle to Malaysian. Vios still doesn't standardise ESC, HA, TC, 4 airbags and etc.
To Improve
1) Improve the suspension system. I mean it!!
2) Improve the aircond airflow at every vents
3) Improve the NVH
4) Vios engine is old, they should invest in GDI nowadays
5) Learn from others automaker how the standardize all safety feature. Frequent see Toyota car accident on side road up-side-down. Why? Because no ESC.
No, I would not recommend this car
Date Reviewed
2 March 2015
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
thong chew
1.5 TRD Sportivo (2012)
Bought new, Owned for 2 Years
Fuel Economy: 0.8 km/litre (125.0 L/100 km), RON97, Mileage: 700 km/month
    1) Nice premium sporty looks inside out ,
    2) Very comfortable front sit ,
    3) Nice legs room,
    4) Very quiet cabin ,
    5) Very smooth 4 speed auto transmission ,
    6) 1 full tank patrol from Johore Bahru to Penang ( not over 3000rpm ).
    1) NO Vehicle Stability Control,
    2) NO Traction Control,
    3) NO Front Demister in B segment , the infront aircond hole only for display , Cannot drive this car at midnight rainy in Highland side Because the aircond only blow your face and leg ONLY ,
    4) Only 2 Airbag ,
    5) Knocking sound from both front wheel ( feel like something part loose when crossing hump or uneven road surface even in car speed 10kmh ) since from 1st service until now UMW still cannot solve the problem ,
    6) Noisy roof top sound when driving in raining time , after install silencer still not so good,can hear very clearly when small stone hit the car body when driving ,
    7) Only 15-inch alloy rim ,
To Improve
1) Install VSC
2) Install Front Demister
3) Change to CVT gearbox and DualVVTi engine for more power more improve fuel saving,
4) Fixed and solve the knocking sound for all the effected car .
No, I would not recommend this car
Date Reviewed
5 January 2015
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Moo
1.5J (A) (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 10.8 km/litre (9.3 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 2 km/month
    The fuel consumption is OK-OK and not as good as claimed by Toyota itself. I can only get around 10.75km/l (min) to 13.74km/l (max) with my new Vios. I have tried both city drive and long distance drive (KL-Desaru / KL-Penang / KL-Cameron Highland / KL-Ipoh) and they do not vary much.

    The seats are comfortable whilst there are plenty of space for both driver and passengers (back and front).

    The engine is very responsive and you get immediate power when you hit the pedal. The newly introduced BA and ABS system in Vios give you a wonderful driving experience. The car does not sway too much when taking corners and the engine give you enough power when you try to overtake. The handling is quite smooth compared to the previous generation.

    The car looks sporty even without the TRD aerokit.

    FYI, my new Vios can go as fast as 195 km/h. (It was scary but fun)

    Plenty of service centres and the staff are friendly.
    1. Knocking sound coming from front wheels and the problem cannot be rectified.
    2. Noisy roof-top and poor sound insulation. You cannot hear your radio at all during rainy day. You feel like the whole tree have fallen on your roof even if it is a tiny branch.
    3. Only equipped with 2 airbags and the body is very very soft.
    4. Still running of 4-speed AT. Should consider changing it to 5-speed / 6-speed.
    5. The car is too high, and you can feel the car is floating when going at above 140km/h. Like a plane before it takes off. LOL
    6. No rear air-cond blower. So you have to turn up the air-cond to a very high level when you are taking passengers.
    7. Free labor only for 1K & 5K service. After that, the labor + tax itself will be higher than a bottle of Engine Oil.
    8. There is no light at the back seat. I have to use my phone's flashlight every time I try to look for something.
To Improve
Change the transmission, better safety features, better exterior quality to prevent a noisy drive.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
2 January 2015
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
murali
1.5J (M) (2012)
Bought used, Owned for 2 Years
Fuel Economy: 13.0 km/litre (7.7 L/100 km), RON97, Mileage: 6,000 km/month
    - reliability
    - Good acceleration for it class
    - Good Braking
    - Clutch engagement (especially in heavy traffic)
    - Horrible NVH insulation
    - Average fuel economy
    - Poor handling (floaty sensation at highway speeds)
    - Questionable assembly quality (gaps in dashboard and cup holder failed within a month)
    - low end torque is bad
To Improve
- NVH issues
- Suspension tuning/design
- Assembly QC
- Fuel consumption
- Clutch issues
- Proper power band (low end torque)
No, I would not recommend this car
Date Reviewed
24 October 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
MOHD ZHAFRAN
1.5 TRD Sportivo (2008)
Bought new, Owned for 6 Years
Fuel Economy: 13.5 km/litre (7.4 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,600 km/month
    Good fuel economy ( 13-15 km per liter )
    The reliability of Toyota
    Good resale value ( I sold it 2 months ago )
    Good service centre support
    The handling was average but good pick up & acceleration at low rpm
    Good & responsive brake
    Somehow it feel more stable speeding more than 160 km/ hr compared to the previous Camry
    Lack of safety features such as VSC,HA,traction control , etc
    Weird looking exterior styling
    Basic features on a high specification model
    Looking back , it does not reflect value for money for the price you pay
    Using previous generation engine & gearbox
To Improve
My car was the second generation Vios ( 1.5 S which later Toyota changed to TRD sportivo). It was a no frills car . Total mileage was 195000. I was satisfied with the car. I wish Toyota was not stingy on the offerings to the Malaysia market.

The usual wishes like other consumers want such as :
New engine with better performance & eficiency
New gearbox
Increase safety features such as 6 bags & VSC
To really bring the TRD features that really improves performance & not just cosmetic purposes
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
20 July 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Hwee Zern
1.5 TRD Sportivo (2008)
Bought new, Owned for 6 Years
Fuel Economy: 12.0 km/litre (8.3 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,000 km/month
    Reliability. Car has been mostly problem-free for past 5 years. Engine working in excellent condition, comfort-oriented drive, handling is adequate though having noticeable body roll during corners. So far, after 5 years of usage, I have only needed repairs to the air-condition once (magnetic coil was faulty) and the suspension on right back tyre. There are no other problems encountered so far and with regular scheduled maintenance/checks at Toyota Service Centre, it's been very reliable car for me. Fuel efficiency is also respectable at about 11-12kml/l. Driving is smooth and comfortable, steering is light to handle. Though when going over corners, one might feel a bit of body roll. Steering is excellent though, it is very easy to manoeuvre the car. Car seats are comfortable too. Optitron meters are an exclusitivty for this model
    Handling needs improvement. It can be bore if you are sporting enthusiast. While driving on highways, I find the car lacks power to accelerate and when driving corners, there is slight body roll. Exterior looks somehow makes car look bulbous with rounded edges. Audio unit is basic with only CD/MP3 functions. No VSC, TC, only 2 airbags
To Improve
Exterior shape of the car can be improved to make more distinctively stunning. Handling and ride can be improved to make it more exciting to drive. VSC, TC are a must for safe cars including hill-assists. Increased more airbags to ensure occupant safety. A GPS-DVD equipped audio unit would be ideal
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
4 July 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Kevin
1.5J (A) (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 13.5 km/litre (7.4 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,000 km/month
    - Car looks have improved , exterior and interior alot better than previous versions
    - Handling and steering is good . Very light and easy to manoeuvre into corners .
    - After sales /service is good
    - Wind and outside noise quite evident due to thin ceiling material which cause rattling when heavy rain
    - Audio system for the J spec is quite bad .
    - Speedometer doesn't have light unless headlights are turned on.
To Improve
- Improve on audio system and add more gadgets
- Sound proofing need to be improved
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
11 June 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Chen Liong
1.5J (A) (2009)
Bought new, Owned for 5 Years
Fuel Economy: 12.0 km/litre (8.3 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,000 km/month
    -Fuel efficient at highway( can get up to 17km/l with constant speed of 120 km/h)
    -Powerful enough for street use
    -Comfortable seat
    -Reliable parts
    -Cup holders
    -Visibility of rear windscreen
    -Bumpy,soft spring
    -Not fuel efficient in city driving( around 11-12 km/l)
    -Confused UMWT service period recommendation vs Owner's Manual
To Improve
- A more rigid suspension
- Rear windscreen visibility
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
13 June 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Muhd
1.5E (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 11.0 km/litre (9.1 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 2,000 km/month
    1. very comfort and spacious
    2. good rear legroom than previous model. Feet of rear passenger can go under the seat easily
    3. like the air cond. cool the cabin faster.
    4. Reasonably comfortable
    5. like the front sportier looks
    6. The braking system really good. It equipped with ABS,EBD & BA.
    1. When taking corners, can't go at high speeds.. It sways at the back too much unless you change the antiroll bar to a bigger one.
    2. Need a new engine and gearbox like dual vvti.
    3. Fuel efficiency is so-so compared to previous model.
    4. Fog lamp need to be more brighter because it not help much if using fog lamp.
    5. can feel the wind noise at speed 120kmh
To Improve
1. To improve with come up with new engine and gearbox.
2. To improve on ride & handling.
3. To improve the wind noise when on high speed.
5. Performance need to be improve.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
12 June 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Vincent
1.5G (2012)
Bought new, Owned for 2 Years
Fuel Economy: 15.0 km/litre (6.7 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,000 km/month
    Superb audio system
    decent air cond
    comfort ride for long and short distance
    fuel efficiency is great
    spacious
    great interior design for G variant
    Loud engine sound when accelerating
    air cond takes a couple of mintues to cool
    alarm system is bad, bonet can be open without unlocking alarm
    hard suspension
To Improve
engine have to be retuned for smoother accelerate
improve air cond to cool down faster
use cobra alarm system like older toyota
retune suspension for more comfortable ride
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
4 June 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Jacky
1.5G (2007)
Bought new, Owned for 7 Years
Fuel Economy: 10.9 km/litre (9.2 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 2,000 km/month
    - Nice design for 1st generation facelift (Front head light)
    - Good in Fuel consumption (City - avg 10.9/L & Highway or rural road - avg 15.8/L)
    - Comfort when normal driving in long distance.
    - Spare parts easy find at any workshop and economically for maintenance. Good QC in accessories part (Power window etc.) So far no spoiled at all.
    - Soundproofing for interior still can acceptable.
    - 1st generation body steel is stronger than new 2nd and 3rd version.
    - Good RV
    - Poor front suspension (drive shaft changed in 6th year) and mounting ( Absorber mounting changed in 5th year and engine mounting changed in 6th year)
    - Having noise when pass through bumper road over 20-30km/h after in 5th year.
    - Handling is not good.
    - 4 AT Speed in prior year still can acceptable. Currently 3rd generation new Vios still 4AT Speed VVT-i???
To Improve
- PLEASE UPGRADE THE ENGINE!! Suppose Dual VVT-i and 5AT Speed !! Invent something new!!
- Increase the tire Rim for good handling
- Please amended the rear light for new 3rd generation Vios. At least LED light.
- Increase the Safety of the car such as install Vehicle Stability Assist (VSA) System and 6 airbag.
- Improve the body quality.
- Please observe other competitors for improving the overall quality of the car and DUN CUT COST!
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
3 June 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Azzam
1.5G (2009)
Bought new, Owned for 5 Years
Fuel Economy: 11.4 km/litre (8.8 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 800 km/month
    - Fuel efficient to a certain extent
    - Comfortable
    - Good RV (if planning to upgrade later)
    - Large rear passenger space
    - Lifetime period on the parts i.e. the rear absorber will leak after 50k km usage, brake pads around 50-70k km
    - NVH can be improved especially during rain (noise from roof, engine, tyres
    - Light coloured interior (beige) doesn't mix well with kids holding Milo drinks. Safe to say that my beige interior is now Milo-ish colour
    - Engine and the gearbox is outdated..c'mon Toyota
To Improve
- Better quality & longer lifetime of parts
- Better NVH
- Darker interior

The Toyota Vios is a good car IF you plan to upgrade to a another car in the future. It's not a car that i would recommend for someone to own it for too long i.e. >5yrs.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
1 June 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Chin Yang
1.5E (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
RON95, Mileage: 200 km/month
    The Outlook design Nicer and more sporty
    The car roof top sound proof very bad during raining and he fuel consumption seems so so..
To Improve
To improve the roof sound proof for water drop and improve on the fuel consumption with better engine performance..
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
26 May 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Ho
1.5G (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 14.5 km/litre (6.9 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 3,000 km/month
    >nice Outlook
    >better Comfort than my myvi and my house Latio 1.6AT Sedan
    >interior really better than the previous model.
    >Oil consumption are in a good site, 14.5km/Litre
    > Sound system a bit not so good.
    > Very noisy when in high speed
    > Feel like going to Fly to the skies when reach 160kmph
    >Conti CC5? OMG... for my G-specs they gave this.
To Improve
All the Cons,
The tyre can change to Bridgestone?
Sound proof really need to improve.
better sound system please...
4At still?
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
30 May 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
CB
1.5E (2006)
Bought new, Owned for 8 Years
Fuel Economy: 14.0 km/litre (7.1 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 300 km/month
    - very reliable car
    - good after sale service
    - comfort and quite inside, good sound proof
    - engine still lacking on high tech
    - still use old 4 speed
To Improve
- engine need to improve to have like dual vvti
- gear ration need to increase like cvt or 5 speed
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
23 May 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Kallen
1.5 TRD Sportivo (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 12.0 km/litre (8.3 L/100 km), RON97, Mileage: 1,500 km/month
    Those with long legs and also big body built has better leg room than city.(almera is the best)
    Very comfortable on bumpy roads
    Spacious at the passenger seat and also booth space is good as well
    Maintenance is not too costly
    Fuel efficiency depends on how driving style..
    Nice interior design than the dugong version
    Suitable for normal driving. Not racing i tell you..

    Rims is 15 inch.. Like seriously?
    The car is not stable after 160kmh. It floats!
    When taking corners, you can't go at high speeds.. It sways at the back too much unless you change the antiroll bar to a bigger one
    4 speed car at this era?
    Soundproofing is not too good for this car.
    Interior panel of aircond suppose to be digitalized but to cut cost, they gave knob type of aircond controller
    Air bags being 2 is not an issue to me but other safety features should be added..
To Improve
Increase rim size
Soundproofing should be better
At least implement 5 speed for auto cars. Not cvt!
Paddle shift would add the wow factor
For trd models, should change the absorber to trd version

Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
22 May 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Ace
1.5J (A) (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
RON95, Mileage: 1,000 km/month
    About this car i just like at the design only
    New vios have a mounting problem,the important is when i get to service center about this happen they askinge to wait more then 1 month to claim the warranty to me,and the wind sound more loud compare with previous model vios
To Improve
The car suspention and the mounting and wind sound need improve more better
No, I would not recommend this car
Date Reviewed
22 May 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
yvonne
1.5G (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 12.0 km/litre (8.3 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 800 km/month
    ~ very nice exterior design especially when you look from the the front view. From the rear view
    ~ fuel saving: with full tank, enough for a journey from Johor to Ipoh
    . no need to stop for refuelling
    ~very easy to find service centre, even in a small town like Kangar. no need to wait for a longer time
    - Sound proofing not so good, when raining heavily very noise sound
    ~ only have TWO airbags
    ~ no rear aircond
    ~
To Improve
~ Sound proofing
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
22 May 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
MUHAMMAD IBRAHIM
1.5 TRD Sportivo (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
RON95, Mileage: 500 km/month
    -Town driving(Handling)
    -Smooth steering wheel
    -Keyless entry and push start button
    -Bucket premium leather seat
    -Fierce face look
    -Spacious
    -Quiet engine
    -Smooth in changing Gear
    -Got rear fog lamp
    -superb light projection
    -Too light, when driving at 160km/h feel like can slip easily
    -Suspension too soft
    -Rear bumper not tough look
    -interior compartment very small
    -Meter are not best looking
    -Not value for money
    -Car too high
    -Standard comes with poor headunit
    -2 abs
To Improve
Toyota must put an effort to produce better for this car, lowering the height of the car, better rear looking bumper, and additional safety for the top spec.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
30 May 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
jason
1.5J (A) (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 12.0 km/litre (8.3 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,000 km/month
    Good family car.
    Light and agile.
    Quite wheelbase and across rough surface.
    Heavy rain makes your roof noisy.
    Slow downshift lock-in gear while need sudden overtake.
To Improve
Roof raining noise.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
21 May 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Loo
1.5 TRD Sportivo (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
RON95, Mileage: 1,000 km/month
    Sports Leather Seats
    Improved Exterior Looks on the TRD Sportivo Spec
    2 airbags only
    No VSC
    No illuminated cluster meter
    Lack of interior lights
    No rear air cond vents
    Old Engine and gearbox
    Cost cutting accessories and additional features
    Build Quality
To Improve
Take a look at its direct competitor , such as Honda with its current latest Honda City
Improve on innovation and accessories
Improve on safety features
Improve on build quality
No, I would not recommend this car
Date Reviewed
21 May 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
ahmad mukhlis
1.5 TRD Sportivo (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 11.0 km/litre (9.1 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,000 km/month
    -very nice exterior design especially when you look from the the front view. From the rear view, meh..
    -fuel saving: with full tank, enough for a journey from Kangar to Kota Bharu. no need to stop for refuelling
    -very spacious boots. i can bring 3 extra big luggages in the boots. if i came back from my hometown (kota bharu), i can bring anythings as much as i can
    -comfortable leather seats
    -ride & handling very good.
    -very easy to find service centre, even in a small town like Kangar. no need to wait for a longer time
    -only have TWO airbags
    -no rear aircond
    -when it comes to rain, u can hear a very noise sound from the roof. i can barely hear the sound from radio
To Improve
-please, please, please improve the safety measures (i hope TOYOTA's manager will read this and will improve it). at least, give us VSC & more than 2 airbags.
-improves the cons mentions above
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
21 May 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Chee Kong
1.5E (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 11.0 km/litre (9.1 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,800 km/month
    - The aesthetics of the current generation of Vios is commendable. Toyota has did well in this aspect and Toyota has indeed brushed off the deragotory comments of previous years where designs of Toyota's cars were not the talk of the town.

    - The old and proven 1.5 vvt-i still packs a punch and is sufficient for day to day city drive. However, if you are into power and that sort of thing, the Vios is not an option at all.

    - Spaciousness of its cabin is noteworthy and the comfort it offers is a positive take away point.
    This is the first Vios which is assembled locally in Malaysia. Substandard built quality is seriously noticeable.

    Firstly, the roof the Vios is far too thin - when it rains, you will not be able to listen to the radio (despite the fact that Toyota claims that sound proofing has improved due to thicker windscreen used. In my opinion, this claim is not substantiated)

    Secondly, there are issues with the mounting (or the suspension system) of the current Vios. There are numerous complains in regard to the mounting (or the suspension system) due to the fact that every time the Vios is driven over bumpy roads, there will be a cracking noise. The service centres and in particular, Toyota Malaysia has failed to rectify this issue. Toyota Malaysia claims that the issues stemmed from the engine mounting which is used in the current Vios and have decided to replace such mounting with the mounting from the previous Vios model. However, such rectification was to no avail and the nuisance persist.

    Thirdly, cabin material quality is substandard. Although nothing much can be expected from a car of this price region but serious consideration will need to be put into the quality of its cabin materials. Hard plastics - easily scratched are used throughout the cabin of the Vios. On a separate note, the Vios does not come with an Optitron Meter (even a Perodua Myvi comes with it) where only cheap stickers are used for the meters illustration.

    Fourthly, for this version of Vios, Toyota chose to do away with the light for the back seat of the car.

    Fifthly, the car paint is far too thin. One can cause a scratch to the Vios' paint job with just their fingernails.
To Improve
To improve on all of the Cons mentioned above and also to introduce extra safety measures such as the Vehicle Stability Control.
No, I would not recommend this car

Toyota Vios' Competitors